Another round round-up. A convincing score from an unconvinced golfer!

I gamed my 1987 BeCu Lynx parallax irons for the first time in anger on a par 4 course yesterday after hitting them well in the garden but really not-at-all well on the range before yesterday’s round. My bag MAY need tweaking after my unconvincing range session… and I didn’t get to hit the full compliment of old irons on the course yesterday (just the 6 and 8 irons in terms of full shots, and positional shots played with the 9i, SW and 5i (so I didn’t play the PW nor 7i)).. but we’ll see anyway, in time. For now, my SOTD (see below) redeemed my thoughts on these irons and they stay in the bag (even if I really should regrip the lot of them…).

What is this now? A seventh, an eighth, a NINTH round round-up in the last four or five weeks? No matter – this one (played yesterday) gave me and my eldest boy a great feeling of satisfaction.

Firstly I should say that I gamed my 1987 BeCu Lynx parallax irons for the first time in anger on a par 4 course yesterday after hitting them well in the garden but really not-at-all well on the range before yesterday’s round. My bag MAY need tweaking after my unconvincing range session… and I didn’t get to hit the full compliment of old irons on the course yesterday (just the 6 and 8 irons in terms of full shots, and positional shots played with the 9i, SW and 5i (so I didn’t play the PW nor 7i)).. but we’ll see anyway, in time. For now, my SOTD (see below) redeemed my thoughts on these irons and they stay in the bag (even if I really should regrip the lot of them…).

OK. I scored 37 – which I think is my best score on 9 holes of the old (full) course at Billingbear all year. Ben scored 55 (He was less happy about that – even though he swung his clubs very sweetly yesterday – the half shots and putts etc let him down a lot on the course last night).

The round was satisfying for me and my boy for one reason in particular . It was a lovely, stress-free, unhurried 9 holes where we weren’t held up either. There was very little wind (quite rare!), the course is still in pretty good nick (the greens are almost completely recovered from their recent tining) and the groups above and behind us (who let us through before the 1st tee!) were really nice people.

The round was doubly satisfying for me as I played really quite well. A lovely drive on 1. A sublime approach on 2 to 3 feet. A lovely drive and 2nd AND approach on 3. A good recovery on 5. A pretty good drive on 6. A lovely tee shot on 7 and 8 (to some extent). A half decent drive on 9 and a lovely (if slightly fortunate kick right to the back of the green) approach to 9. Oh sure, I fluffed my lines once or twice (my tee shot on 4 and 5, my recovery on 6 and my second shot on 8) and I left three putts sitting at the very edge of the hole – but in all in all, I was very pleased with my performance yesterday. Could have been a couple of shots better I suppose… but we all say that, don’t we?

SOTD? A lovely soft 6 iron (a 1987 BecU Lynx parallax) to the back left of the 7th green. Which clung onto the green thankfully (I was playing a spinny Titleist PROVIx – not sure my (more usual) low spin and low compression balls would have stuck to the green so well to be honest).

Not too bad, all in all.

A pretty convincing score eventually, from an unconvinced golfer on the range a couple of hours before…

Leave a comment