Thirty-four and a half years

In fact I’ve altered my entire bag back to primarily lynx clubs, after gaming the BeCu parallax irons. My current bag can be seen below (I’ve added my Lynx CoNi wedges and my Lynx LP9 putter to the 5-SW Parallax irons. I’ve even (temporarily) removed my beloved 60 degree Cleveland BRZ lob wedge – something that I thought I might never do!

Bit of a running theme, this and the last blog post, but I needed to write this quickly before I disappear to Wentworth tomorrow, for the BMW PGA pro am.

What, two or so weeks ago now I blogged this year’s WITB video – and immediately after that I explored the attic just to make sure my bag was set in stone.

I suddenly discovered that my old Snake Eyes 600XC irons were really playing well… so gamed them for a (terrible) round – and then immediately discovered that the clubs I’ve NEVER gamed (and have been residing in a box in the attic for several years now) were truly a thing of beauty – and I’ve immediately put them all in the bag.

I’m talking, ladies and gennelmen, about the Spring of 1987 (so 34.5 years old) Beryllium Copper Lynx Parallax irons I bought several years ago, tried once on the range and immediately consigned them to the attic. But in the attic they shall remain NO MORE!!!!

I know they’re probably an inch and a half shorter than ideal for me (I’m 6’2″ so require at least an inch or even two ideally more than standard in my shafts) and also a few degrees too flat in lie angle, so I may struggle hitting them left – and I also know they’re pretty retro in terms of loft – so think a 33 degree 7 iron which probably only carries up to 130 yards for me, instead of the 140 plus carry of my gurt-big HB Turbo hybrid irons. (NB. I, unlike most other hackers, am almost certainly a little pessimistic when stating my yardages with clubs – the way I see it, I hit more greens that way, rather than coming up short – like most of my playing partners – I can probably get my retro-lofted 7 iron up to 140 yards and my modern, power-lofted 7 hybrid iron up to 155 plus).

I also know the grips are too small and too worn. I may WELL have to change them soon.

But for now, if I aim right, and close the club face, and keep DOWN through the ball… they feel LUVVERLY.

So they’re in the bag.

In fact I’ve altered my entire bag back to primarily lynx clubs, after gaming the BeCu parallax irons. My current bag can be seen below (I’ve added my Lynx CoNi wedges and my Lynx LP9 putter to the 5-SW Parallax irons. I’ve even (temporarily) removed my beloved 60 degree Cleveland BRZ lob wedge – something that I thought I might never do!

Now all I hope for is that they don’t turn out like the Snake Eyes 600XC and get removed from my bag after one round as I just got lucky on the range with them.

I don’t think that will happen.

I hope not!

They’re short. They’re an acquired taste ( I love the way they look). They’re quite unforgiving but superb from around the greens and in bunkers (is there a better club from sand than either the Ping Eye 2 SW or the Lynx Parallax SW?) – and they’re thirty-four and a half years old!

2 thoughts on “Thirty-four and a half years

  1. Pingback: Another round round-up. A convincing score from an unconvinced golfer! | The Black Rabbit Golf Blog

  2. Pingback: Another round round-up. A NEW, all-time gross record. | The Black Rabbits' Golf Blog

Leave a comment