The end of “the lull”? with a few more notes to self?

On July 8th I wrote that I was aching, stressed and not enjoying my golf, so thought I’d take a wee break – and since then, I’ve only played three times, twice in that same week…. and then 9 holes (a fortnight later). Not at all in August.

Yep. Even though I’ve just had my two weeks summer holiday AND not gone anywhere (by that I mean STAYED anywhere each night other than the house), and I’ve already written and published this season’s WITB post here, I STILL haven’t played any golf over the last month or so… I just haven’t been up for it.

Until now perhaps?

My wife and boys have gone away for a week (to her parents’ place) and I’ve had two days of hitting a few balls at the range after work.

And I think my mojo MAY be returning!

To be fair to me, I did tweak my back pretty badly two and a half weeks ago, which frightened me quite a bit and probably kept me away from hitting balls for at least a week or ten days and also my family and I have been very busy on our hols… but…. If my mojo DOES return in the next few days (or even weeks) it will still probably be too late to avoid a pretty patchy season golf-wise. When I’ve played, I’ve played well… it’s just that I haven’t played much. At least compared to the last two seasons.

Anyway… back to a few quick notes to myself, which I promised myself at the range a few minutes ago I’d get down on the blog – as I was hitting the ball really well at last.

A few thoughts then, to perhaps take me through to the end of this season (just 10 weeks away or so now… I know… that’s what happens if you take a 6 week hiatus in the middle of the season!).

Irons – high hands at top of backswing, WAIT at top of backswing and rotate lower body through ball… THEN swing down into the ball. Keep spine angle.

Woods – (tee) – SET UP IS KEY. Go through my deliberate old set-up routine. Club down in left hand. Feet together. Feet apart. Keep club where it is and place right hand under grip. Bring club back which will raise left shoulder a little too much. Loosen arms and legs. Slowly back. (SLOWER than that!). Keep spine angle and get through the ball.

The woods (tee) notes is quite high risk for me – I’m hitting the ball much harder than I normally do… but it seems to be working… and when I try and throttle back (as I almost always do when playing for real)… it all goes pear-shaped! Time will tell whether or not this high risk technique will work for me off tees (although to be honest… most blokes I know play like that).

So.

Will I play a round or two in the next fortnight?

I hope so.

Is my mojo returning.

I REALLY hope so!

Watch this space….

One thought on “The end of “the lull”? with a few more notes to self?

  1. Pingback: Another season round-up. Pretty-well as expected? | The Black Rabbit Golf Blog

Leave a comment