Ultra slo-mo clips of pre-season mat sesh in the warm sun today.

As the kids and their mother are at their grandparents’/parents’ house in Shrewsbury for a day or two… and as the weather was quite gorgeous today (15-16C… so warm for February… and lovely and sunny), I thought I’d hit a few balls at the range. Pre-season. And video them in ultra slo mo…

Well… it has to be said, I enjoyed the weather better than my contact, but it wasn’t too bad. I really need to work on my:

  1. routine (pre shot)
  2. address (stance)
  3. One swing thought.. maybe two max.
  4. Consistency of strike and compression.

So… I need to work on everything then?!

Screenshot 1 – from a few hits with my beautiful Smith and Wesson Snake Eyes MB1 Blade 8 iron.

2019-02-21 (5)

Video (in ultra slo mo, so no sound) HERE.

 

Screenshot 2 – from a few hits with the driver I am currently hitting with, a Ping K15 – although there’s plenty of time for that to change to a Snake Eyes 600T or even a Mizuno driver.. or perhaps, like the vast majority of last season – no driver at all?!

2019-02-21 (6)

Video (in ultra slo mo, so no sound) HERE.

 

Screenshot 3 – from a few hits with my beautiful black rabbit 3 wood. Actually a black headed, black shafted, black gripped Cleveland 588 Wood which has become my new “Black Rabbit” wood… after I binned the original “Black Rabbit” a couple of years ago now. This was my tee club of choice for the majority of last year. Remember last season – when we didn’t need to risk a driver… as we got no rain from May to September??!!!

2019-02-21 (4)

Video (in ultra slo mo, so no sound) HERE.

 

A couple of points to note.

One. I think I’ll take my new wee camera (with which I recorded these ultra slo mo clips) onto the course with me a few times this year…. perhaps to shoot video clips as well as stills (instead of my phone). But I will only be recording in 60FPS with sound like this clip, rather than ultra slo mo (no sound) like the clips in this blog post. There’s something about the sound of the golf swing (and contact) that… well.. just hits the spot eh?

Two. I seem to have developed something of a Dan Biggar pre-shot routine, if you look at my wee clips above. The club is banged into the ground and raised, and put on the ground again and raised and put on the ground again… It’s something I am aware of these days (having videoed a few shots over the past few years) and I am aware it appears strange. I’m not sure it helps really… but then again… to just hover the club behind the ball… or worse… just place the head still on the ground behind the ball… would be even worse wouldn’t it? I mean you NEED to be relaxed and moving and ABLE to move, when taking a golf shot – so perhaps its something that I am just stuck with now.

I hope you can enjoy this balmy weather at present  – and if you do manage to hit a few balls… remember that this time last year, we were enduring the “Beast from the East” and not playing at all!

 

 

Leave a comment